Noctorum – The Afterlife

Dare Mason, Marty Willson-Piper, Music, Noctorum, post punk, Punk Noir Magazine

the afterlife

“A breath of fresh air with just the right mix of upbeat instrumentation and an attractive tandem of male and female vocals. Gentle, mellifluous guitar lines are whisked about by a brisk drum beat, while Willson-Piper’s sweetly soft and fluid vocals offer up a bittersweet portrait of Londontown… superb and stands up to anything ever released by The Church or All About Eve”Big Takeover Magazine

“Bristling with energy and rock and roll groove but retaining that slight psychedelic infusion that served his formative band so well, it is that trade off between its underground nature and hooky accessibility that will see it pick up fans across the spectrum”Dancing About Architecture

“Everything we’ve heard from the new Noctorum album gives every indication that this is a smashing album and that Marty Willson-Piper is still at his pinnacle as far songwriting and performance goes… Dare Mason’s production up to par with his past works for The Church, Placebo, The Grid, Brix Smith (ex The Fall) and Cinerama” – Louder Than War


Noctorum, a duo comprised of guitarist/singer-songwriter Marty Willson-Piper and producer Dare Mason, present their fourth album ‘The Afterlife’. In the lead-up to this event, they released the singles ‘Piccadilly Circus in the Rain’, ‘A Girl With No Love’, and the latest – ‘The Moon Drips’.

This is the duo’s first long-play in seven years. This album is being released on heavy-weight gatefold vinyl, CD and digitally via Schoolkids Records. Earlier, contributors to the band’s crowdfunding campaign received an advance copy after Noctorum’s campaign successfully achieved 113% of its target for the album.

Formed in 2002, Noctorum released their debut album Sparks Lane’ on Heyday Records in 2003. In 2006, they followed up with the album ‘Offer The Light’ on that same label, later re-releasing it as a digipak in 2010 via Second Motion Records. Heyday released their third album ‘Honey Mink Forever’ in 2011.

The duo was named for the village Noctorum, located near to their childhood homes on The Wirral (near Liverpool). This collaboration has an eclectic focus, making the quiet loud and vice-versa, singing words that might be spoken and playing indoor instruments that should be heard outside. It has to be imagined to exist.


Marty Willson-Piper has been writing and performing internationally for over 35 years. He is best known as a long-time member of Australian psychedelic rock band The Church, who he was with from its inception through to 2013. He joined All About Eve in the ’90s, releasing two studio albums and several live albums with them. He is also lead singer and lyricist with Swedish band MOAT and a touring member of Swedish Prog legends Anekdoten. Since the mid-1980s, Willson-Piper has maintained a steady solo output, releasing six solo studio albums and three live solo albums to date. He has also co-written music with many artists, including Grace Slick, Aimee Mann, Susannah Hoffs and Linda Perry.

As a house engineer at London’s world famous Townhouse Studios, Dare Mason has worked with the likes of Prince, Paul McCartney, Boy George, Tina Turner, Ravi Shankar and Soul II Soul, among others. After becoming a freelance producer/engineer in 1991, he produced albums for The Grid, The Church, Placebo and AC Acoustics, working in London, New York, Sydney and Stockholm. He finally moved to Cornwall, where he set up the VIP Lounge studio in 2001. Nowadays, Dare is mainly known as a mixing engineer, having mixed recordings by Brix Smith (ex The Fall), Cinerama and Tommy Tokyo. Dare is also a composer, songwriter and accomplished guitarist, singer and dabbler in keyboards, usually contributing musically to the artists he produces.

As of February 15, ‘The Afterlife’ will be available across online stores and streaming platforms like Spotify. The album can be ordered in all formats via Schoolkids Records.

Marty Willson-Piper – lead vocal, electric lead and rhythm guitars, bass, swedish cittra
Dare Mason – keyboards, backing vocals
Olivia Willson-Piper – backing vocals
Richard Evans – trumpet
Steve Jackson – drums
Written and produced by Marty Willson-Piper & Dare Mason
Lyrics by Marty Willson-Piper
Recorded and mixed by Dare Mason at the VIP Lounge, Penzance, England
Mastered by Poppy Weinberger for Riverfish Mastering
Design by Olivia Willson-Piper & Lizzie Tucker

Mar 14  LONDON, UK – The Betsey Trotwood (downstairs) SOLD OUT
Mar 15  LONDON, UK – The Betsey Trotwood (upstairs) SOLD OUT
Mar 17  BIRMINGHAM, UK – Kitchen Garden Cafe
Mar 18  BRISTOL, UK – Salt Cafe
Mar 19  MANCHESTER, UK – Gullivers Lounge SOLD OUT
Mar 20  LEEK, UK – Foxlowe Arts Centre
Mar 21  EDINBURGH, Scotland – The Voodoo Rooms
Mar 22  LIVERPOOL, UK – Smithdown Social Club

Keep up with Noctorum / Marty Willson-Piper
Noctorumsite | Marty site | Facebook | Marty Facebook | YouTube | Twitter | Soundcloud | Spotify |